Welcome to the section of the website where you can find out more about the academy’s governors, and the work that we do. You can also read the minutes from our meetings.

Our main role is to support the principal and the staff – the phrase often used to describe this role is ‘a critical friend’. We help them to set and reach targets and to strive for excellence across the whole spectrum of school life. The two key documents used for this are the School Development Plan (SDP) and the Self Evaluation Form (SEF). The SDP sets out a three year strategic plan for the school, with targets that everyone works towards and the SEF sets out how well the school is doing and where we aim to make improvements.

Our legal duties include:

  • setting strategic direction, policies and objectives
  • approving the school budget
  • reviewing progress against the school’s budget and objectives
  • appointing, challenging and supporting the headteacher

The governing body meets at least once every term. We set up committees or working groups to look at particular issues (such as pay, performance management, buildings development). A small group (principal, governor responsible for finance and the academy finance officer) meets to keep an eye on school finances between our termly governor meetings. All governors are informed about what happens at these finance meetings.

There are several categories of governor, appointed by different groups that have an interest in the academy. These are community governors, the local authority (LA), parents, and staff. All governors have equal status however they are appointed.

We are committed to providing an excellent environment for all pupils to enjoy during their time at our academy.

Governing body

Mr B Bond Chair of governors
Mrs D Kightley Principal
Mr H Hamilton Local authority governor
Mrs S Taylor Parent governor
Mr R Handford Community governor
Mrs K Stebbings Community governor
Ms E Storey Community governor
Miss C Wadham Community governor
Mrs Donna Derbyshire Community governor
Mrs Joanne Harvey Community governor